Cherry Cherie

We’ve had a great cherry crop in the PNW this year, every time I go to the store I’m tempted by the bags filled with dark red bing cherries, I can rarely resist the temptation and thus have had cherries in my fridge nearly constantly for the last month.  I woke up this morning to chilly temps, overcast skies, and this recipe in my inbox. I also had the better part of a bag of cherries that were a day or two away from the compost bin – so I heeded the signs of the universe and made cherry compote.

CherryCOllage1

I was just shy of a pound and a half of cherries, so I cut the sugar to 40g. I didn’t have any kirsch on hand, but I did have some port, which worked just as well (even if I did add a tad more than the 2 tsp called for).

CherrySundae1

The compote is a great topping for ice cream, yogurt, oatmeal and maybe waffles? Toast? I can imagine many pairings that would be delicious.  Because this freezes so well,  I am tempted to whip up a couple more batches while the cherries are plentiful and see how the compote fares in cookies, brownies and ice cream.  If I get around to it, I’ll let you know how it works out.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About misskellen

Female. 30s. Formerly of Brooklyn. Rides an 2013 Tiger 800 around the state and nearby environs. Bakes a lot. Trusty side kick: KitchenAid Professional 600 Series. Shiny and red.

Leave a comment