Independence

Mirror

 

What a great start to summer. My weekend was packed full of activities: motorbiking, BBQing, hiking, and floating with friends new and old.  I knew I wouldn’t have time to bake between those activities, and I knew I wanted to bring something for  the BBQ and the float, so I spent a the night prior to the weekend baking away.  First up, Whirlygigs for a 4th of July BBQ.

These are, slightly, a pain in the ass to make. You need time – I started them 2 days ahead, making the peanutbutter dough and chilling it overnight. The next day I rolled it out (it doesn’t want to roll out AND stay in one piece), painted on the chocolate layer, rolled them up (and they do not want to roll up) and let it chill for another 5-6 hours.

PBPainted

Skimping on the chill time in this recipe is only going to lead to failure and frustration, so I left ample time for it.

Sufficiently chilled, the were sliced (I only remembered the 1/4 turn trick about 3/4 of the way through the first roll…whoops)

SlicedPB

and baked.

Baked C

 

And promptly packed, delivered to, and eaten at a fun Fourth of July BBQ (sorry, no pics!). A few were also given the speed test, toured around northern OR and delivered to an alternate location. I can only assume they were as delicious post-ride.

Bikes

 

The other item up for the weekend was a take on the tragically fattening, delicious and formerly only-available-from-pint-sized-crack-dealers, Samoa. This version is a bit grown-up: all-butter shortbread base, caramel & coconut filling, and a dark chocolate drizzle. They are the perfect grown-up, non-chemical laden, Samoa.

They were also tragically left in a trunk, intended as a post-float snack, but ultimately, maybe, possibly, (drunkenly) forgotten. I can assure you they were delicious, and did not go to waste (they were repurposed as snacks for my Granny & her pals).

SamoaCollage

That float, though? It went off. Sunshine, friends, hydration, and a thorough review and acknowledgement of all water-way laws.

Float1

 

I hope everyone had a safe & enjoyable holiday weekend. I’m excited for this start of summer, in a new city, new home, with great friends & family.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About misskellen

Female. 30s. Formerly of Brooklyn. Rides an 2013 Tiger 800 around the state and nearby environs. Bakes a lot. Trusty side kick: KitchenAid Professional 600 Series. Shiny and red.

Leave a comment