Creamsicle Tart

TartStart

This was a great tart – a bit of a pain in the ass – but a great tart. It’s from Baked Explorations .  It tastes just like the Creamsicle from our youth, but with better ingredients & more sophisticated presentation (though who am I kidding? Anyone who gives me a creamsicle for dessert is a winner in my book).

I opted for Cara Cara oranges (it’s what the fruit stand had), and Blood Orange Dry Soda because I couldn’t find an orange cream soda that didn’t have high fructose corn syrup in it.  Because the soda lacked the creaminess of a traditional cream soda, I added a few drops (maybe a 1/4 t) of vanilla extract to the orange curd after it had cooked, it did the trick.

Juiced

SugarZest

I’ll know I’ll have made it when I have someone to zest all my citrus for me. So. Much. Zesting. But worth it! The zest goes into the crust & the curd and makes everything deliciously citrusy & bright.

Dough

One of my top 5 tart crusts. Loaded with butter & orange zest and crumbly for days.

ToppedTart

I added too much soda to the whipped cream (the natural soda has a less intense flavor that your typical soda, note to self, reduce it before adding next time), and it was a bit watery…but the flavor was still good  and no one seemed to mind.

tartslice

Best eaten with loads of friends, in your new kitchen, with drinks, laughter & many video games.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About misskellen

Female. 30s. Formerly of Brooklyn. Rides an 2013 Tiger 800 around the state and nearby environs. Bakes a lot. Trusty side kick: KitchenAid Professional 600 Series. Shiny and red.

3 responses to “Creamsicle Tart”

  1. Cheryl says :

    I want to taste it.

  2. Joanne Duvall says :

    This sounds so awsome!

Leave a comment