Homesick, hurricanes and sympathy baking.

Week 44. Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls.

I’ve been feeling really homesick lately. I’ve moved around a lot, and not many of the places I’ve lived have felt like home.  One that has  been “home” is Brooklyn, NY and it’s a place that I miss often.  I think the increase in homesick-feelings of late is due to being in a new city, the emptiness left by not living with RMT, and having not been back to NYC in 10 months.

I’ve spent a good portion of the last 24-36 hours watching Sandy – and strangely, I keep finding myself wishing I was there riding out the storm with my friends and preparing to help clean up the city that I love so much.  I’ve been checking out news, videos, twitter and FB , and making phone calls to the loved ones on the east coast; more than once I’ve found myself expecting to look out side and see rain and debris flying through the air rather than the sunny blue skies of Southern California.

I know if I were in NYC right now, I’d be holed up in my apartment, maybe with a friend or two, baking away and having a movie marathon. I gave in to the urge to bake yesterday, I consider it sympathy baking, and whipped up a batch of Baked’s Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls.  They are absolutely delicious, and I know if I were in NYC they would be comforting us through the storm and her aftermath.

Yet another Baked recipe – this one from their third book.  It has maybe the best filling I’ve ever used in a cinnamon roll, probably because of my love of cardamom, which these include with the expected cinnamon, sugar & nutmeg.

Now, storm coverage complete, I think i’m going to warm one of these up, grab some coffee and catch up on some work. I love you NYC! I really am sorry I can’t be there.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About misskellen

Female. 30s. Formerly of Brooklyn. Rides an 2013 Tiger 800 around the state and nearby environs. Bakes a lot. Trusty side kick: KitchenAid Professional 600 Series. Shiny and red.

Leave a comment