Vegan-Cookie Weekend

Week 10.

It’s true. All vegan this weekend. At least as far as baking is concerned (friday night dinner was largely composed of: one rotisserie chicken and 2 bottles of red wine – split between two of us – and there is currently 4lbs of pork slow-roasting in my oven…must keep everything in balance, no?)

A few weeks ago I promised a friend I’d cookie-bomb him. I love baking for others, and I especially love sending cookie packages – who doesn’t love getting cookies in the mail? I mulled over what would ship well & hold up for a few extra days while in transit. Additionally, the intended recipient and his special lady friend are vegan, which was another challenge.  I don’t have any aversion to vegan baked goods, they just are not what I usually bake, and are slightly outside my comfort zone.  With traditional recipe I can tell from reading a recipe, nearly without exception, what the final product wil be like, and as such if it is worth making.  Ingredients and methods are different with vegan baking, and I’m not as comfortable inferring what the end product will be like. That being said, I decided to use two recipes from one of my favorite food bloggers, Heidi Swanson over at 101 Cookbooks.  I’ve made many of the recipes on her site, and from her first book Supernatural Cooking, all with great success.  I feel comfortable diving into her recipes, confident that the end result will be delicious.  Both recipes are no exception (full disclosure: I’ve made Nikki’s healthy cookies before, twice actually…) and worth making regardless of your dietary tendencies.

Back Row: Peanutbutter Cookies
Front Row: Nikki’s Healthy Cookies

The blog has been much heavier on the baker front than the moto front.  That needs to change.  It’s partially due to the season, and partially due to other life goings on that prevent me from riding as much as I’d like.  No excuse though, I have a back log of posts that I’ve been wanting to finish and polish up and get up.  Hopefully you’ll be seeing those here soon.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About misskellen

Female. 30s. Formerly of Brooklyn. Rides an 2013 Tiger 800 around the state and nearby environs. Bakes a lot. Trusty side kick: KitchenAid Professional 600 Series. Shiny and red.

Leave a comment