Flour, Sugar and 10W40

Week 8.

There is good reason that this blog is called MotoBaker. For me, those two activities can turn around the worst of days.

Work this week was trying. Long days of hurdle after hurdle, seeming to never make progress.  By mid-week, I had turned to my two favorite stress relieving activities: motorcycles and baking.

After work on Wednesday, I jumped on the bike and went for a ride, aimless except keeping my course somewhat directed towards the stores I needed to stop at to shop for ingredients. An hour or so later, I returned home much more relaxed and with a bag full of groceries.

I was in the mood for something cake-like but quicker, and not as involved. I stumbled across a crumb cake recipe that had three of my favorite flavors (banana, espresso, cinnamon) and is based on a Baked recipe (Banana Espresso Muffins which I’ve made and loved), but it was a crumb cake. I hate crumb cake. Hate it. I think it’s a waste of calories, ingredients and time. HOWEVER.  The flavor combination and Baked inspiration swayed me to try it. Despite it’s crumb/coffee cake nature, I was hoping these attributes would win me over.

I am officially a crumb cake convert.

Motorcycling, baking, both clear my head and take away any and all frustrations.  It’s a good day when I can end it with both of those things.

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Crumb Cake. — This isn’t the most photogenic cake, but it is super delicious.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About misskellen

Female. 30s. Formerly of Brooklyn. Rides an 2013 Tiger 800 around the state and nearby environs. Bakes a lot. Trusty side kick: KitchenAid Professional 600 Series. Shiny and red.

2 responses to “Flour, Sugar and 10W40”

  1. cookiemomma says :

    Looks amazing to me

Leave a comment